Image result for a court of wings and ruin

A Court Of Wings And Ruin

By: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: (since this is the last book in the series I will put the synopsis of the first book in case you haven’t read this series yet.) Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

Did it perpetuate healthy ideals? The relationship that the group at the Night court have is amazing. Yet there is a moment where one of the characters attacks another character, not on purpose but still. Also there is a war in this book which is not healthy in any sense. There was also a lot of lying and deception going on in the first part of this book.

Did it have adequate representation? Yes. All of the characters are different in there own way, be it what there sexuality, gender, or color is. I also loved how the book was mainly told in Feyre’s perspective with two chapters being told in Rhys’s perspective.

Did it teach me something or make me think? I always try to look for something to take from the books I read and this book taught me to try and look deeper. Think about if there is another scenario before you act.

Were the characters memorable? Totally. All of the characters were memorable and each had something special about them. Even the characters that just got introduced in this book were memorable. I am very happy with what happened with Tamlin in this book because I believed that he did love Feyre in his own way. Also I cried a lot during this book because of things that happened to the characters, so of course they were memorable.

Was the plot clever? Yes this series will forever be one of my favorite series and now that I have finished it all I want to do is reread all the books again. I wish that I could spend more time reading about all of the characters in the book. I know more books will come out but it will be kind of weird not following Feyre. I hope we see all of the characters from the series again in the next books.

Favorite quotes:

  • “Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”
  • “You belong to all of us, and we belong to you.”
  • “It’s a rare person to face who they are and not run from it – not be broken by it.”
  • “When you erupt, girl, make sure it is felt across worlds.”
  • “I have no regrets in my life, but this. That we did not have time. That I did not have time with you, Nesta. I will find you in the next world – the next life. And we will have that time. I promise.”
  • “And as its chest rose and stopped altogether, as its breath escaped in one last sigh, I understood why the Suriel had come to help me, again and again. Not just for kindness … but because it was a dreamer. And it was the heart of a dreamer that had ceased beating inside that monstrous chest.”
  • “I am yours, and you are mine.”
  • “What we think to be our greatest weakness can sometimes be our biggest strength.”
  • “You bow to no one,”
  • “I see all of you, Rhys. And there is not one part that i do not love with everything I am.”
  • “It is a new world, and we must decide how we are to end this old one and begin it anew.”
  • “I would have waited five hundred more years for you. A thousand years. And if this was all the time we were allowed to have… the wait was worth it.”
  • “The great joy and honour of my life has been to know you. To call you my family. And I am grateful – more than I can possibly say – that I was given this time with you all”
  • “Night Triumphant – and the Stars Eternal.
    If he was the sweet, terrifying darkness, I was the glittering light that only his shadows could make clear.”
  • “And death at Nesta’s hands … I wondered if they’d have to invent a new word for killing when she was done with Graysen. “
  • “But this is war. We don’t have the luxury of good ideas—only picking between the bad ones.”
  • “I hadn’t realized I was a villain in your narrative,”
  • “Perhaps that’s because Rhysand has not lost you at all. But rather unleashed you upon us.”

This book was incredible. Comment down below what you thought about the book if you have read it. Thank you so much for reading and I hope you are all having a great day.

