Top Ten Tuesday is run by The Broke an the Bookish. http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html

Since there is a hiatus for Top Ten Tuesday until next Tuesday I decided that I would do an old topic that I thought would be great to do.

  1. Stray by Rachel Vincent. The first line of this book really sets the pace for this story. “The moment the door opened I knew an ass-kicking was inevitable.” I loved the whole first chapter of this book, and this is a book I would definitely recommend to people who like urban fantasy.
  2. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. This book begins with a prologue where you get your first glimpse at Will Herondale. Also the first line of the prologue is “The demon exploded in a shower of ichor and guts.” This book had amazing characters and several people say that this series has one of the best love triangles ever done in a book which with what I read of the series so far I agree with. I recommend this book to people who have read the first three books of The Mortal Instruments series. Although you do not have to read that series in order to read The Infernal Devices. The Infernal Devices gives a backstory to The Mortal Instruments. I also recommend this book to fantasy lovers, and people who like reading books based in the 1800’s.
  3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I really like the beginning of this book and it sets you up for the rest of the story. This wasn’t my favorite book in the series but it was still definitely a five star read. My favorite is Lola and The Boy Next Door. The first sentence of this book is ” Here is everything I know about France: Madeline and Amelie and Moulin Rouge.” I recommend this book to contemporary lovers.
  4. Sea of Shadows by Kelly Armstrong. I loved this book. It just had the ability to suck me into the story. There is a prologue to this book which gives you a great picture on what this book is going to be like. ” After three days of tramping across endless lava fields, Ronan quickened his steps at the sight of the forest.” I recommend this book to fantasy lovers.
  5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. There is also a prologue in this book which shows what life was like for Will Traynor before what happened to him. This is very important to the book because you see what he had to give up because of the accident. “When he emerges from the bathroom she is awake, propped up against the pillows and flicking through the travel brochures that were beside his bed.” I recommend this book to people who like contemporary books.
  6. Delirium by Lauren Oliver. I really liked the first chapter of this book. In fact the first sentence of this book is what made me want to read the book in the first place. “It has been sixty – four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure.” That first sentence is just awesome. I haven’t read the other books in the series but I really enjoyed the first book. I rated it 4 or 4.5 out of 5 stars. I do recommend this book to people who like dystopian novels.
  7. Room by Emma Donoghue. I loved this book. It is told in the perspective of a five year old named Jack. It is an incredible story and it was amazing reading from a little kids perspective on things. Instead of the first sentence I will put the first paragraph because the first sentence doesn’t give to much of an impression by itself. “Today I’m five. I was four last night going to sleep in Wardrobe, but when I wake up in Bed in the dark I’m changed to five, abracadabra. Before that I was three, then two, then one, then zero. “Was I minus numbers?”” Room is an amazing book but I did have some problems with it. I rated Room 3/5 stars. I do recommend this book to people who like contemporary and are older.
  8. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. This is an incredible book I loved reading from the perspective it is told in. I will also put more then the first sentence of this book. “First the colors. Then the humans. That’s usually how I see things. Or at least, how I try.” I recommend this book to people who like historical fiction and people who are looking for an amazing book to read.
  9. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. I loved this book so much and it has a great plot twist. “Today was the day a thousand dreams would die and a single dream would be born.” I recommend this book to fantasy lovers. I rated this book 5/5 stars.
  10. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. This book is incredible. It is about four sisters and their lives. I would recommend this book to people who love reading books with great family relationships as well as people who like historical fiction books. “”Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents,” grumbled Jo lying on the rug.”

Those were my top ten favorite beginnings in books. What are some of your favorite book beginnings, or what book do you think has the best beginning? Comment down below.

