Image result for p.s. i like you

P.S. I Like You 

By: Kasie West

Synopsis: (from goodreads) Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Did it perpetuate healthy ideals: Yes especially with Lily’s family life. She came from a very close knit home. I loved reading about her family. She has the family life that everyone kind of wants.

Did it have adequate representation: Yes. You got to see a lot through the letters about both of them.

Did it teach me something or make me think: It kind of taught me that love is unexpected and unpredictable. It also made me think about what was going on in the letters.

Were the characters memorable: Yes. I loved reading about Lily and her family and I am not going to say who the guy is but just read it and you will know what I mean.

Was the plot clever: Yes I really enjoyed the concept that the two wrote to each other during Chemistry classes.

Did I enjoy reading it: Yes. I loved reading this book especially since I don’t read many contemporary books. It was great.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “Silence is kind of awkward, don’t you think?” he said.

    Oh. Or not. “No. I’m okay with silence. We’re in a library after all. This is the birthplace of silence.”

    “The library is the birthplace of silence?” David asked.

    “All the words are being used by the books. When I was little, that’s what I used to think. That people were told to be quiet so that all their words didn’t get stolen by the books. I thought books needed words to exist. Well, obviously they do, but I thought they needed spoken words. Yeah … I was always weird.”

    “And here I thought libraries were quiet because people were trying to study,” David whispered.

    “That might be another explanation.”

  • “Oh, also, if Mr. Ortega catches me writing you this letter, I am committed to shoving it in my mouth and swallowing. I hope I can count on the same commitment from you.”
  • “Words brought us together though they almost kept us apart.

    You trusted me with your secrets and then you stole my heart.

    They say that love is rare, like …

    “What’s rare?” I asked.

    “What?” His eyes lifted from the page and met mine.

    “What are some things that are rare?”

    “Meat?”

    I laughed. “We’re more alike than you know.”

 

 

 

