Image result for Hush hush

Hush, Hush

By: Becca Fitzpatrick

Synopsis: (from goodreads) A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Did it perpetuate healthy ideals: I thought the friendship between Nora and Vee was healthy. Also the relationship she has with her mom. Although you know that things are tough because her father is dead.

Did it have adequate representation: I thought so. I enjoyed reading from Nora’s perspective especially when it came to Patch.

Did it teach me something or make me think: Yes it made me think of many things.

Were the characters memorable: Yes especially Patch. He was my favorite character and now one of my most favorite male characters in YA. I loved him so much. Also Vee Nora’s best friend was pretty memorable.

Was the plot clever: Yes. It did remind me a lot of Twilight though.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “You smell good, too,” said Patch

    It’s called a shower.” I was staring straight ahead. When he didn’t answer, I turned sideways. “Soap. Shampoo. Hot water.”

    Naked. I know the drill.”

  • “Say ‘provoking’ again. Your mouth looks provocative when you do.”
  • “You possess other people’s…bodies.”

    He accepted that statement with a nod.

    “Do you want to possess my body?”

    “I want to do a lot of things to your body, but that’s not one of them.”

  • “Keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn’t.”
  • “You’re a guardian angel now.” I was still too much in awe to wrap my mind around it, but at the same time I felt amazement, curiosity…happiness.

    “I’m your guardian angel,” he said.

    “I get my very own guardian angel? What, exactly, is your job description?”

    “Guard your body.” His smile tipped higher. “I take my job seriously, which means I’m going to need to get acquainted with the subject matter on a personal level.”

  • “All this time I’ve hated myself for it. I thought I’d given it up for nothing. But if I hadn’t fallen, I wouldn’t have met you.”
  • “If you can’t feel, why did you kiss me?”
    Patch traced a finger along my collarbone, then headed south stopping at my heart. I felt it pounding through my skin. “Because I feel it here, in my heart,” he said quietly.”
  • “Before I forget, here’s your homework. Where do you want me to put it?”
    She pointed at the trash can. “Right there would be fine.”
  • “The problem with human attraction is not knowing if it will be returned.”
  • “Call me Patch. I mean it. Call me.”
