Before I begin I would like to say that the questions I use while talking about a book are questions used by Sylwia on her channel Wish Fulfillment.

A Court of Mist and Fury 

By: Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 5/5

Does it perpetuate healthy ideals?: Okay I am going to say that the relationship that the group in the night court has is amazing. In this book though it shows Feyre being held captive in a house against her will, mentions rape, and killing brutality.

Did it have adequate representation?: We see through the perspective of Feyre but in this book it also has one chapter in Rhysand’s perspective. I do think it might be nice to more about what the others are thinking and the other courts. In this book you see mainly the Spring, Summer, and Night courts. It would be nice if we could also learn more about the other courts.

Did it teach me something or make me think?: Yes. It taught me about the Night court and went more in depth about the fey life style. I thought this book like most fantasy works was very thought provoking.

What was the writing style like?: I would say this book had really good pacing throughout. I honestly never wanted to put this book down.

Were the characters memorable?: Yes, especially the people from the Night court. I also found Feyre’s sisters to be more memorable in this book then is the first. My favorite character I would have to say that was just introduced in this book was Cassian. He is honestly hilarious. I also ship him with Feyre’s sister Nesta.

Was the plot clever?: Yes. I really enjoy the plot of this book and am anticipating the next one.

Did I enjoy reading it?: Yes, I absolutely loved it. I found myself not being able to put it down. It blew my expectations away.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “”To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
    Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.””
  •  “He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”
  • “I fell in love with you, smartass, because you were one of us—because you weren’t afraid of me, and you decided to end your spectacular victory by throwing that piece of bone at Amarantha like a javelin. I felt Cassian’s spirit beside me in that moment, and could have sworn I heard him say, ‘If you don’t marry her, you stupid prick, I will.”
  • “If you were going to die, I was going to die with you. I couldn’t stop thinking it over and over as you screamed, as I tried to kill her: you were my mate, my mate, my mate.”
  • “I am broken and healing, but every piece of my heart belong to you.”
