Before I begin this review I would like to say that I am using questions that Slywia over at Wish Fulfillment on booktube uses for her reviews. (link to her channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjVDCLugZoyr8XcrMgjToPQ).

The Murder Complex 

By Lindsay Cummings

Rating: 5/5 stars

Close your eyes and feel your enemy’s weakness. Mind over body. Mind over body. Mind over body. Breath in. Out. In. Out. Now Survive. Welcome to the Murder Complex. You can not see us. You cannot feel us. But we are here, and we control your every move.

Does it perpetuate healthy ideals?: No, not really. It has many bad things going on including murder, and a very corrupt government. The only thing that I would consider a healthy ideal in this book is how the main character Meadow cares about and protects her little sister Peri.

Did it have adequate representation?: This book is told in the perspectives of Zephyr who is a ward and Meadow. I think this book had okay representation but I would of liked to know more on the initiative side of things. I did really enjoy the points of view from both Meadow and Zephyr.

Did it teach me something or make me think?: Yes this book made me think. It made me think of what it would be like to live in the Shallows and how society ended up like it did. It also made me think of how difficult Zephyrs life would be as a ward. A ward is the person who disposes of the dead bodies on the street.

What was the writing style like?: It was a very fast paced story.

Were the characters memorable?: Yes. I loved all the characters especially Meadow and Zephyr. All the side characters were also very memorable my favorite side character being Meadows brother Koi.

Was the plot clever?: Yes. This books plot was very intriguing and I have to say that I was surprised by the end. 

Did I enjoy reading it?: Yes. It was fast paced and action packed. I think it is one of the best books I have read this year.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “We’re all good until we’re not strong enough to be anymore.”
  • “Count to three. Relax your mind. Now survive.”
  • “She nods and smiles, finally throwing me a stare thats as deadly as poison “You can kiss my ass, Zephyr James.””
