Isla and the Happily Ever After 

by Stephanie Perkins

Isla is a girl who has had a crush on Josh since she met him at SOAP, but with a chance meeting in the summer they get together and have a romance that everyone dreams of. I loved this book. Isla is named after Prince Edward Island which I found so cool because that is in Canada in the maritime’s. Josh opened up to and loved Isla, something Isla didn’t realize till the end of the book after she broke up with him because she thought he didn’t love her.

That was the most agonizing part of the story I had to get through. I was so angry at Isla because she broke Josh’s heart even though she was still in love with him. Love worked its magic though and Josh came back to France after Isla’s sister Hattie sent Josh the book Isla got personalized to him by his favorite author. Josh never stopped loving Isla and was so happy Isla got into and accepted Dartmouth. That was there happily ever after but there is another happily after worth mentioning in this story.

Etienne proposes to Anna. Josh, Isla, Cricket, Lola, and Meredith all come to watch Etienne propose at point zero. It was one of the best and most romantic scenes in the book because the first place Etienne took Anna to in France was point zero.

Overall I thought this book was amazing and I do recommend this book and the others if you like contemporary books.

I rated Isla and the Happily ever after 5/5 stars.

Favorite Quotes:

  • “”Phones are distracting. The internet is distracting. The way he looked at you? He wasn’t distracted. He was consumed.”
  • “A blank canvas… has unlimited possibilities.”
  • ” I smiled up at him. “Its beautiful. But what comes next?” “The best part.” And he pulls me back into his arms. “The happily ever after.” “
